In July of 1969, the Cheboygan County Planning Commission was formed. The creation of the County Planning Commission is authorized by the State of Michigan under Act 285 of the Public Acts of 1931 and its amendments under Act 282 of the Public Acts of 1945.


The Planning Commission's responsibilities include reviewing Special Use Permits, Planned Unit Developments, and Site Plan Reviews, as well as developing and updating the Master Plan, Zoning Ordinance and any other land use plan and ordinance. Zoning Amendments (including rezonings) are reviewed by the Planning Commission for a recommendation followed by the County Board of Commissioners for actual approval.


The Planning Commission members are appointed by the Cheboygan County Board of Commissioners to one, two, or three year terms. The members represent different backgrounds, such as government, agriculture, business, etc, and not specific geographic areas of the County.


The Planning Commission meets the first and third Wednesday of every month at 7:00pm in the Commissioner's Room (Room #135) of the Cheboygan County Building. These dates and time are subject to change.



  • Patty Croft(Chairperson)
  • Harold Borowicz (Vice Chairperson)
  • Stuart Bartlett
  • Charles Freese
  • Michael Kavanaugh
  • Charles Ostwald
  • Stephen Churchill
  • Sharon Lyon
  • John Jazdzyk