County Treasurer

The office of County Treasurer was established by the Michigan State Constitution. The Treasurer is an elected official and serves a 4-year term. The majority of the Treasurer’s duties are set by statute, however authority is also provided for by the County Board of Commissioners.

The Treasurer acts as the custodian of all county funds, and as such is responsible for receipting, recording and investing all money received by the various departments within the County. As Investment Officer for the County, the Treasurer is responsible for the safeguarding and investing of these monies, acting in accordance with the County’s Investment Policy.

The Treasurer is responsible for the collection of delinquent real property taxes. Through a process referred to as “settlement,” the County Treasurer receives all delinquent taxes from the townships and cities in the county on March 1st each year. From the Delinquent Tax Fund, these townships and cities are “made whole” for all taxes due, and the responsibility for collecting those taxes becomes that of the County Treasurer. See Delinquent Tax Process for more information.

The Treasurer is responsible for the certification of deeds and other real estate title transfers prior to recording the documents.

The Treasurer is a member of the Plat Board, the Elections Commission, the County Apportionment Commission, and the County Tax Allocation Board.

The Treasurer is responsible for the sale and record keeping of Dog Licenses.

The Cheboygan County Treasurer's Office is responsible for conducting an audit of questionable Principal Residence Exemptions.


Buffy Jo Weldon
(231) 627-8821

870 S. Main Street, Room 201
P.O. Box 70
Cheboygan, MI 49721
(231) 627-8821
Fax: (231) 627-8415

Monday - Friday
8:00AM - 4:30PM
Except holidays

Additional Staff
Chief Deputy Treasurer
Wendy L. Loffer
Assistant Treasurer
Rachel G. Vallance
Clerk II
Christine M. Fenlon
Clerk II
Jayne L. Passeno