Rent a slip, Boat put-ins, pump outs

Straits Regional Ride
Cheboygan, Emmet and Presque Isle Counties

Cheboygan County Fair
Fairgrounds, vendor information, dates

Planning Commission

In July of 1969, the Cheboygan County Planning Commission was formed. The creation of the County Planning Commission was orginally authorized by the State of Michigan under Act 285 of the Public Acts of 1931 and its amendments under Act 282 of the Public Acts of 1945. The current Planning Enabling Act is PA 33 of 2008.

Counties in Michigan are enabled to do zoning ordinances under the Michigan Zoning Enabling Act, which is PA 110 of 2006. This is the authority under which counties are allowed to create zoning ordinances to ensure compatible land uses. Cheboygan County zoning authority covers all townships except Burt Township and those areas outside of the incorporated villages of Mackinaw City and Wolverine and the city of Cheboygan. These 4 municipalities have their own zoning ordinances and planning commissions.

The Planning Commission’s responsibilities include reviewing Special Use Permits, Planned Unit Developments, and Site Plan Reviews, as well as developing and updating the Master Plan, Zoning Ordinance and any other land use plan and ordinance. Zoning Amendments (including rezonings) are reviewed by the Planning Commission for a recommendation followed by the County Board of Commissioners for actual approval.

The Planning Commission members are appointed by the Cheboygan County Board of Commissioners to one, two, or three year terms. The members represent different backgrounds, such as government, agriculture, business, etc, and not specific geographic areas of the County.

The Planning Commission meets the first and third Wednesday of every month at 7:00 pm in the Commissioner’s Room (Room #135) of the Cheboygan County Building. These dates and time are subject to change.

Harold Borowicz (Chairperson)
Ed Delana (Vice-Chairperson)
Charles Freese (Secretary)
Michael Kavanaugh
Sharon Lyon
John Studer
Lena Thompson
Linda Rogers

Director of Planning and Zoning

Michael Turisk
(231) 627-8485


870 South Main Street, Room 103
PO Box 70
Cheboygan, MI 49721
(231) 627-8489
Fax: (231) 627-3646


Mon-Fri, 8am-12pm & 1pm-4pm

 Additional Staff

Assistant To Director Of Planning And Zoning
Debbie Tomlinson
(231) 627-8489

Jennifer Merk
(231) 627-8475

Enforcement Officer/Soil Erosion Officer
Caleb Cavitt
(231) 627-8827


Cheboygan County Sheriff Department
County Building
870 S. Main St.
Cheboygan, MI 49721

Michigan Department of Natural Resources
Indian River Field Office
6984 S. Straits Hwy
Indian River, MI 49749

Cheboygan Department of Public Safety
Cheboygan City Hall
403 N. Huron St.
Cheboygan, MI 49721

Mackinaw City Police Department
Village Hall
102 S. Huron Ave.
Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Tuscarora Township Police Department
Tuscarora Township Hall
3546 S. Straits Hwy
Indian River, MI 49749


Cheboygan County
870 S. Main St.
Cheboygan, MI 49721