Rent a slip, Boat put-ins, pump outs

Straits Regional Ride
Cheboygan, Emmet and Presque Isle Counties

Cheboygan County Fair
Fairgrounds, vendor information, dates

Board of Commissioners (BoC)

Mission Statement

Cheboygan County officials and staff will strive to provide public services in an open and courteous manner and will responsibly manage county resources.

Vision Statement

The County of Cheboygan will strengthen its position as a diverse, family oriented community while promoting a higher quality of life, a safe environment, balanced growth and positive interaction with all citizens.

The County Board of Commissioners

The County Board of Commissioners is the governing board and the policy-making body of County Government. While many of its powers, duties and responsibilities are prescribed by law and diffused through the widespread use of commissions, boards, committees and independently elected officers, the board is in charge of the development and approval of county policy. One of the main duties of the Board of Commissioners is to set the budget of the county. Commissioners are elected to a two-year term on a partisan basis from single member districts within the county.

The Board of Commissioners holds a Finance/Business meeting on the second Tuesday of each month and on the fourth Tuesday of each month meets as a Committee of the Whole. Meetings are held at 9:30 a.m. and at such other times and days as may be established. At the first meeting of each year in January, the Board elects a Chairperson and a Vice Chairperson. Meetings of the Board are open to the public. Persons wishing to address the Board are requested first to make arrangements with the County Administrator or the County Clerk, so that the matter may be taken up in proper order.

Chairperson:   John Wallace
Vice Chairperson:    Richard Sangster

Cheboygan County Board and Commission Application


Goals focus the direction of an organization’s work, under the guidance from the vision and mission statement. Goals are relatively static in nature and will not often change.

The goals of the Board of Commissioners are:

PUBLIC SAFETY – To focus on providing services beneficial to the citizens of Cheboygan County in the areas of public health, safety and security.

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT – To promote and encourage economic development through our continued efforts of collaborations with our partners.

QUALITY COUNTY SERVICE – To work diligently to provide courteous, efficient, quality service.

RECOGNIZING SOCIAL ISSUES – To work diligently to address social needs, recognizing the limited role of counties and working together with state and federal governments in their role.

ADDRESSING MULTIPLE FACILITY NEEDS – To continue development of capital improvement schedules to maintain county assets.

COLLABORATION-SERVICE – To explore continued expansion of collaborative activities.

County Commissioners

District 1 – Jeff Ostman
10380 US 23 Hwy.
Mackinaw City, MI 49701

District 2 – Richard B. Sangster
PO Box 176
Cheboygan, MI 49721

District 3 – Michael Newman
7611 Carter Road
Cheboygan, MI 49721

District 4 – Ron Williams
3265 Polish Line Road
Cheboygan, MI 49721

District 5 – Kim Pappas
1279 Center St, Aloha
Cheboygan, MI 49721

District 6 – John Wallace
PO Box 790
5845 Berry Lane
Indian River, MI 49749

District 7 – Steve Warfield
4790 Trowbridge Trail
Wolverine, MI 49799

Cheboygan County Commissioners District Map


Cheboygan County Sheriff Department
County Building
870 S. Main St.
Cheboygan, MI 49721

Michigan Department of Natural Resources
Indian River Field Office
6984 S. Straits Hwy
Indian River, MI 49749

Cheboygan Department of Public Safety
Cheboygan City Hall
403 N. Huron St.
Cheboygan, MI 49721

Mackinaw City Police Department
Village Hall
102 S. Huron Ave.
Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Tuscarora Township Police Department
Tuscarora Township Hall
3546 S. Straits Hwy
Indian River, MI 49749

Presque Isle County Sheriff’s Department
267 N 2nd St.
Rogers City, MI 49779


Cheboygan County
870 S. Main St.
Cheboygan, MI 49721